Review
Showing posts with label Review. Show all posts

Saturday, September 14, 2019

7-Day Skincare Challenge + Results

I have always wanted my skin to look radiant and healthy but the idea of a 10-step skincare overwhelms me and I cannot be bothered to have such extensive routine because I do not have the time I am lazy.

When I started to look for products I could use, I realized that I had no idea what my skin type was. I did tons of "research" and experimented on a few different products. And like anybody who is just starting skincare, I am reluctant to invest on expensive products. Luckily, I did not have to go great lengths to actually see good results.

I'm not here to endorse a brand nor convince you to use the products I use because I’m fairly new to this. There could be a thousands of options that I do not know of out there. But when people compliment me, they also ask what I use for my face. So I just want to share what has truly helped me achieve a healthier, glowing skin. Here's the skincare regimen I tailored for my skin needs (dry, morena skin) that I find simple yet effective.

Friday, August 10, 2018

New Favorite!

I do not have a sweet tooth. And that basically means, when it comes to desserts and sweet treats, I am too hard to please.

While everybody drools at the sight of a cake or a doughnut, I have this uncanny ability to shrug off or worse, refuse sweets. Yeah, sue me. This puts people in panic mode like it's a crime not to like sweets or something, and with unbelieving eyes, they ask, "are you on a diet?!"

Oh boy, if that slice of chocolate cake were 2 pounds of crabs or bacon, I'd eat the sh*t out of it.

Sunday, July 1, 2018

My Secret to Lighter and Smoother Underarms

I know I've made bad life choices when I was young that I regret until this very day. Plucking and shaving my armpit hair when my mom told me to leave it alone, for example.

The years of plucking and shaving left ugly, tiny bumps on my armpits that would not go away no matter what product I used. For someone who prefers to wear tank tops, sleeveless shirts, or anything presko like me, it feels better to forget about covering up the problem area and simply wear whatever I want. So despite all the products that failed me, I never gave up and found ways on achieving that smooth and beautiful underarm.
Secret to a lighter and smoother underarms
Raise those arms with confidence! (Also, the lights and camera settings make it appear I'm fair-skinned. I am not.)

Tuesday, April 17, 2018

'A Quiet Place' Nailed It (A Not So Serious Review)

It's been like a day and I feel like I should have moved on by now, but I can't. I just can't. This is kind of surprising because "horror" movies don't scare me at all. Sorry, Jan. I'm not the type of girl that you can take to a horror movie so I can bury myself into your chest whenever a "frightening" scene comes. Haha.

Honestly, I can be so annoying when watching a horror/thriller film because I will just keep on giving comments on the logical flaws and tiny loopholes I see in a movie or how dumb and foolish these horror movie characters are.

Sunday, October 1, 2017

How I Avoided Pregnancy Stretch Marks

I'm not saying that stretchmarks are bad. This is in no way an indication that your body is ruined. But it is indeed a proof of how it has triumphed. However, a lot of people are still asking me how come I do not have pregnancy stretchmarks at all. Well, I had my way of "avoiding" them and I'd be happy to share them with you. I just hope I do not come across as body-shaming or something because honestly, this shouldn't really be a big deal and IT IS OKAY TO HAVE THEM.

Stretchmarks, they say, is genetic. You get them or you don't. But I don't completely agree with that. I believe my post-pregnancy stretchmark-free tummy isn't a work of genetics. I have stretchmarks on my butt and some on my boobies, too. Simply because I was not aware the tummy is not the only place to look out for.

2016. 31, sun-kissed and loving it!

Sunday, August 27, 2017

Photobook Philippines: A Review

My mom has always emphasized the importance of having physical copies of our photos. So if by any chance you come to visit our home, you would see piles and piles of photo albums where our deepest, darkest, and most embarrassing childhood moments were kept.

I've never really listened to her though. Uploading was apparently easier and printing photos was quite expensive. Then I learned my lesson the hard way when the hard drive suddenly crashed and Multiply and Friendster unexpectedly shut down for good. I've only had a few photos left during my college years. And those were the photos that my mom saved by having them printed.

Sunday, July 30, 2017

Sampung Dahilan Kung Bakit Nagustuhan Ko ang Pelikulang Kita Kita

Isa. Isang beses ko pa lang napapanood ang pelikulang ito. Take note of the keywords "pa lang". Oo, kung may pagkakataon, gusto kong tumawa, masaktan, at tumawa ulit. Paulit-ulit.

Dalawa. Dalawa lang ang cast ng pelikula pero napakalakas ng kurot at napakalaki ng emosyon ang ibinuhos dito. Dinaig pa ang all-star cast ng big productions ng pelikulang Pilipino. Walang sinabi ang Jadine at Kathniel.

Tatlo. Tatlong salita talaga yung tumatak sa kokote ko. Saging, puso, at repolyo.

Apat. Apat na beses kong ipinikit ang mga mata ko dahil biglang gumwapo si Empoy sa aking paningin.

Lima. Limang beses kong pinigilan ang pagluha ko.

Anim. Anim na beses kong kinumbinse ang sarili ko na kapag mag ja-Japan ako, pupunta ako ng Saporro.

Pito. Pitong beses akong halos maihi sa kakatawa.

Walo. Walong beses akong sinabihan na kamukha ko si Alessandra de Rossi. Kaya ayan, gandang-ganda naman ako sa sarili ko.

Siyam. Siyam na beses naming kinanta ang Two Less Lonely People of the World ni KZ Tandingan pagkatapos ng pelikula.

Sampu. Sampung bituin ang ibibigay ko sa pelikulang ito, sampung malakas na palakpak, sampung hiyaw, at sampung beses kong paulit ulit na irerekomenda ito sayo.


Kaya kung di mo pa to napapanood, manood ka na dahil it's now, it's never.

P.S. I know I suck at tagalog.

Sunday, May 21, 2017

Top Ten Summer Favorites

This summer has been the summerest so far. The sweltering heat and my tan lines just said it all. But more than that, I was able to do a lot of things and see a lot of beautiful places.

Picture this... On the first day of April, I went beach bumming at Island Garden Resort in Pangubatan. Two weeks later, I completed a Basic Mountaineering Course, which includes camping, trekking, and rappelling. Then I went diving the whole day at the Taklobo Farm and Coral Gardens just a week after that. The next day, I found myself on a spontaneous road trip with friends and spent a day and a half riding the waves of Dahican. And then the week that followed got me more and more sun-kissed in El Nido. And since summer isn't over yet, this weekend was spent for a much needed rest and relaxation in Isla Reta. (Hashtag that QuotaKaNaSarah)

Friday, January 27, 2017

Crabtastic and Crabsolutely Delicious Crabs in Town

I pity those people with seafood allergies. They are missing a lot. Actually, I am allergic to crabs. But unlike others, I can still eat a bucketful without throwing up or blowing up like a balloon. I would just have a few really really itchy red spots all over my limbs that's just easy deal with. It won't send my lungs to an overdrive or worse, kill me. And that's a pretty good thing knowing my absolute love for crabs is non-negotiable.

A week ago, Blue Posts Boiling Crabs and Shrimps invited me and a few blogger friends to their private launching of their third branch here in Davao City. I've read and heard great stories about this. And judging from the words coming from my friends' mouths, it's something I definitely don't want to miss.

And the stories were right.

Friday, November 4, 2016

Review: Sandugo Eiger Shoes

I've done several river crossings and canyoning before. And not one of them have I worn a proper footwear. I used to be so proud wearing my trusted hiking shoes - waterproof and all. But on occasions, I've had these futile attempts to keep my shoes dry. I turn to a different route or look for another way. I would avoid crossings that are already ankle deep at all cost to save me the trouble of wearing a heavy bucketful of water on my feet. But of course, that's not always the case.

Sometimes, I'd wear sandals because it's more comfortable and lighter than a hiking shoes. Plus, I don't have to think twice about wading into the water and getting my feet wet. But since I can be clumsy too, I've had blisters and injured a toe or two with it.

But these days, I'm no longer worried about taking on any water adventure because I have this:

Sunday, August 14, 2016

HairFood Co.: Giving Your Skin the Best Care It Deserves

I barely use beauty products, especially on my face. Since I am always in a hurry (read: lazy), my daily facial routine includes: washing, moisturizing, and applying baby powder only. Nothing more, nothing less. I really didn't care until a legion of tiny red minions started breaking out lately, and perhaps my frequent exposure to the sun is responsible for the fine lines that's starting to get a little noticeable on my face. Yes, I can get a little conscious too.

I am thinking, if I'm gonna be a hot momma in my 50s, then I have to take care of my skin as early as now.

Thankfully, HairFood Co. exists and sent me wonderful goodies for my skin and hair. But since I will be talking about skin care here, the (now-favorite) hair care products will have a share of the spotlight in another post. Please stay tuned for that.
Thank you so much, HairFood Co.

Monday, July 4, 2016

Eco Skin Love Eco Balm: The Wonder Balm

Our Balut Island getaway gave me a lot of scratches and insect bites that left ugly red marks on my legs. I usually just leave scars alone and let them fade on their own. But since I will be wearing shorts in my Muay Thai trainings, I got a little conscious I decided to look for a product that will speed up the healing process.

A friend recommended Eco Skin Love Eco Balm, said it was effective for her acne scars. I was actually hesitant to get one only for the reason that I don't like balms in tub. I find it unhygienic knowing I would introduce bacteria every single time I dip my fingers on it.
Ecoskinlove Eco Balm
To lessen the exposure, I had to transfer a small amount to a smaller tub.

But I got one anyway. And thank the high heavens I did. Because other than my kaartehan, I don't have issues with this balm. In fact, it did a lot of wonders to my skin - even more than what I expected. And a product like this deserves a review from someone who doesn't actually do reviews unless it's worth the time. So allow me to share why I dubbed this as a wonder balm.

Saturday, May 14, 2016

Review: Brown Trekker Hybrid Tent

Everybody knows that I love the outdoors. This is the fourth tent that I owned (I had domes and a tadpole before) but this will be the first one that I'll make a review.

Please note that whatever I say here is factual and only based on my experience. This is an honest review and not a paid post.
----

It was more than a year ago when I scoured for a new tent for our hiking trip in Lake Holon, Mt. Parker. And since I was on a tight budget, I had to look for a tent that has a price like the ones you use for junior camps but should be durable, lightweight, waterproof, and can withstand harsh environments. Yes, I must be delusional. Where in the world would I find that?

Saturday, February 21, 2015

That Thing Called Tadhana

Yup, this is me losing the battle against cheesy Filipino movies. I don't really like watching love stories, let alone Pinoy movies for their unoriginal, predictable, and overly promoted but usually half-assed quality production. To tell you honestly, Pinoy movies suck big time right now. No. Let me rephrase that. Over-hyped Pinoy movies suck big time. But this, this film that humbly made its way to the big screens really got me. It somehow hoisted the downward spiral of the once great Philippine movie industry, didn't it? We need more movies like this. Movies that actually foster creativity over profit.
© Life is so full of tae!
Maira Gall